Slow-Cooker Sunday: Tomato Basil Parmesan Soup

Welcome to our first Slow-Cooker Sunday! Today I’ll be sharing with you this recipe that I’ve been dying to try since I pinned it. Since I received not one but 2 kinds of slow cookers for Christmas, I thought it was high time I got started. I gathered up my ingredients and decided to throw in some extra tomatoes I already had on hand because I didn’t want them to go bad. (Keeping it real here, guys).

image

The instructions were really clear so I had no trouble getting the soup together even though I’ve never made a roux before! I love slow-cooker recipes because they are just leave-them-then-love-them easy.  Like the instructions said, I let the veggies, stock and spices mingle for a few hours and made the roux half an hour before dinner. This is what I ended up with:

image

I was a little nervous for the taste test because I have absolutely no experience making soups and I love tomato soup. I had high expectations! So let me cut to the chase, I loved it! It was creamy, and had great texture thanks to the veggies. It is definitely a step up from canned tomato soup, and thanks to the slow cooker it didn’t really take up much of my time to prepare.  I also thought my love for tomatoes made me biased so I asked my boyfriend (who hates tomatoes) and my sister (who is so/so on tomatoes) to give it a shot and they both liked it. I could see it going well with panini on a cold day as a grown up way to relive those grilled cheese and tomato soup days I had as a kid, but for now I’ll just pack it for lunch!

image 

Grade:   Cost:   Time:    

B+

$5

Active: 10 minutes

Total: 6-7 hours

 
 
Level of Difficulty:  
This was very easy to accomplish. Good for a fearless beginner.  
 
What I Would Change:  
 I added diced tomatoes I already had and it added a nice texture.  
 
Overall Impression:  
 I really enjoyed the soup, but the roux seemed a little intimidating for someone who had never done it.  
 

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a comment