Bow Hairstyle

I have seen the bow hairstyle posted an reposted all over Pinterest. As a fan of the classic ponytail, bun, and braid, I decided to give this a try.

What you will need:

  • Hair-tie
  • Bobbie pins
  • Long hair (mine is to the middle of my back)

The directions were really simple. First, I started with a simple ponytail, but made sure to leave the end of the ponytail tucked into the hair-tie. Next, I split the hair down the center, pulled the remaining tail of hair upwards towards the top of my head, then pulled the strand down to cover the part and proceeded to bobbie-pin those pieces to the top of my head. This was the result:
image

As you can tell, it wasn’t very good. I think part of the problem was that my hair is extremely thick. The tail that is supposed to wrap around the pony and separate the part was so thick that I could only use half of it, which left the other half hanging down haphazardly.

I also saw a pin for a bow hairstyle on the top of the head, using the reverse technique. It was much harder and turned out lot worse. Rather than a deflated bow in the back of my head, it created a deflated bow on the top front of it.

Grade: Cost: Time:

C

<$5

Less than 15

Level of Difficulty:
 Easy
What I Would Change:
I might use a can of hair spray and see if that makes a difference holding the hair up,
or only try this with half my hair. I would also like to see this tried on someone with thinner hair.
Overall Impression:
Disappointed. I think it is meant for someone with thinner hair.

*** Disclaimer on my grading****
I have very thick hair, which could have led to the failure of this. If you have tried this and had success, please tell us and/or include a picture of your final result. We’d love to see it!

Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “Bow Hairstyle

  1. Must Have Boxes March 4, 2013 at 3:20 pm Reply

    I haven’t had much success with creating a hair bow either. My hair is long and thick too.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com/

    • Rachel March 5, 2013 at 1:27 pm Reply

      I want to try some more hairstyles soon. I hope at least some of them will work for long and thick hair.

  2. Tuck and Cover | Pintertesting August 22, 2013 at 1:30 pm Reply

    […] of my first blog posts was about testing the bow hairstyle. It turned out a disaster. I was very wary about trying other Hairstyles from Pinterest because A. […]

Leave a comment