Healthy Pot Pie

How are you standing up to the cold? Is it finally getting to you? Well us too! That’s why I opted to make my family some Chicken Pot Pie. Since we’re still trying to stay reasonably healthy, I searched Pinterest for a healthy version of pot pie. Although the author means well by deeming it “healthy” it’s really not. If you made a stew with these ingredients without the flaky dough top, then we might be talking healthy, but as the recipe stands….. Don’t kid yourself. Pot Pies are meant for a hearty meal on a cold day. If you want a healthy meal for a cold day…. eat a salad. You’ll feel even colder.

Ok… ok… I didn’t mean to lecture you. I just wanted to give you fair warning about this before we began.

Let me introduce you too…… All the ingredients!
image

Most are home staples that you should have on hand, but this will take some time to prepare (unless your chicken or turkey is already cooked)

NOTE: You’ll also need to multi-task while making this.

We used some new bowls my sister got for Christmas for this recipe. Santa has good taste, does he not?

image

I mixed together the dough
image

Then worked on the filling.

image

My dad and I started to tag team on this. It got a little hard to manage. I had to make a double patch of dough because there wasn’t enough to fully fit our bowls.

Before placing in the oven, cover in a layer of egg wash(we saved the egg whites from the making the crust). This will make a flaky crust. My dad poured all the rest of the egg whites on top of his. He loves eggs and thought it tasted fantastic with the pot pie.

image

TADA!! Dinner:

image

Grade: Cost: Time:
B

Free (They’re all home staples)

1 1/2 hours

Level of Difficulty:
Medium
What I Would Change:
Completely cover the pot pie dish with dough. That will keep the moisture in. It was a little dry. Also be prepared to add some salt and pepper. It was a bit bland. I’d prefer to just add some crescent roll dough to the top. The homemade dough was kinda heavy.
Overall Impression:
Good, but could use some work. After making it a few times it could be perfected. No matter what the original cook says this is not healthy. It may be healthier than your current lifestyle, but is in no way as healthy as eating a plate of meat and vegetables.

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a comment